I’ve been a father for almost four years now, and everyday I’m surprised by something new. Whether it’s something brand new or something that reminds me of my childhood. One thing I do have some trouble understanding are brothers.

In a few weeks my youngest will turn one year old, and that means I have been the father of two boys for the same amount of time. Don’t get me wrong I find it a most rewarding vocation, especially since I have been privileged enough to be able to stay at home during these early years. Not that it hasn’t been hard, I want to be out in the field in the traditional role of a father, but things haven’t been kind for me finding a job. I do what I can to provide for my family, but this isn’t the main point.

As I watch my boys interact, they are a constant curiosity for me. I am the oldest in my family and have no brothers, and a bunch of sisters. This leaves a bit of a gap in my understanding of what these two little ones are thinking. The mini fights and the wrestling that already happen between these two both amazing and annoying. Annoying in the fact that they are fighting or being rambunctious, and amazing in the fact that when they are done they seem to be closer than ever.

I don’t expect to understand this, but it is one of things that I love about being a Dad.

Leave a Reply

